Plenary Speakers

Plenary Speakers

  • Roger Coates

    British Nuclear Fuels

    Roger Coates has over 45 years experience as a senior health, safety and environment manager in the UK nuclear industry, including the post of Safety Director for British Nuclear Fuels plc. On retiring from BNFL he worked for a short period with IAEA. He served for ten years (2008-18) as a Non-Executive Director of the UK’s LLW disposal organisation (LLW Repository Ltd) and as a consultant to other UK nuclear organisations and the IAEA. He has been extensively involved at both national and international level in the fields of radiation protection and nuclear safety. He is a former President of the (UK) Society for Radiological Protection. He has been very active with the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA): he was Congress President for the IRPA13 International Congress held in Glasgow in 2012, IRPA Vice President for the term 2012–16, and at the IRPA14 Cape Town Congress was appointed IRPA President for 2016-2020. He was awarded an OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire) in the Queen’s 90th Birthday Honours List in June 2016 for services to nuclear safety and radiological protection.

  • Craig Piercy

    American Nuclear Society

    Craig serves as the CEO of the American Nuclear Society, a position he has held since November 2019. He has over 25 years of experience in nuclear policy as a congressional chief of staff, associate staff for the House Appropriations Committee, and public affairs advisor for corporations, labs and universities.

    During his time on Capitol Hill, Craig led efforts to preserve federal nuclear R&D funding and to accelerate cleanup of the U.S. Department of Energy’s defense nuclear sites. As ANS Washington Representative, Craig played a central role in several high-profile policy victories, including the creation of the Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP) and Integrated University Program (IUP) and defeating legislation that would have banned the commercial use of 14 radioisotopes.

    Craig has a bachelor’s degree in Government and Politics from the University of Maryland, College Park, and is a graduate of the Public Affairs Institute. He lives in Bethesda, Maryland, with his wife Clare and is an avid skier, canoeist, and Formula One fan.

  • Gayle Woloschak

    Northwestern University

    Gayle E. Woloschak is Professor of Radiation Oncology, Radiology, and Cell and Molecular Biology in the Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University. Gayle received her B.S. in Biological Sciences, from Youngstown State University and a Ph.D. in Medical Sciences from the University of Toledo (Medical College of Ohio). She did her postdoctoral training at the Mayo Clinic, and then moved to Argonne National Laboratory until 2001. Her scientific interests are predominantly in the areas of Molecular Biology. Radiation Biology, and Nanotechnology studies, and she has authored over 200 papers. She is editor-in-chief for the International Journal of Radiation Biology, is past-President of the Radiation Research Society, is a member of the National Council of Radiation Protection and Measurements, is a member of Committee-1 for the International Commission on Radiation Protection and serves on a committee studying low dose radiation effects for UNSCEAR. She is also Associate Dean of Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Affairs in The Graduate School at Northwestern University.

  • John Cardarelli

    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

    Dr. John Cardarelli received his B.S. in Nuclear Engineering, an M.S. in Health Physics and Ph.D. in Industrial Hygiene/Environmental Health from the University of Cincinnati. He holds a Professional Engineering License (nuclear specialty), and is board certified in both Industrial Hygiene and Health Physics. He recently retired as a Captain from the U.S. Public Health Service and currently serves as a Research Health Physicist with the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. He has nearly 30 years working in various radiological fields with the Centers for Disease Control and the Environmental Protection Agency, including epidemiology, exposure assessment, risk communication, emergency response, environmental characterization and cleanup policies, aerial and ground-based wide-area characterization, dose reconstructions and non-ionizing radiation.

    Dr. Cardarelli is currently serving as the President of the Health Physics Society, one of the largest radiation protection societies in the world and is actively engaged with the National Society for Professional Engineers. He served on two National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurement committees and has written six book chapters, 15 peer reviewed journal articles, and more than 30 technical reports. He has received numerous awards throughout his PHS career, most notably the EPA, PHS, and Federal Engineer of the Year (2006), PHS Meritorious Service Medal (2016); and the John Teschner Leadership Award (2018). His most recent journal article entitled “It’s time to move beyond the linear no-threshold theory for low dose radiation protection” won the Best Paper of Year Award from Dose-Response in 2018.

  • Ed Calabrese

    University of Massachusetts

    Edward J. Calabrese is a Professor of Toxicology at the University of Massachusetts, School of Public Health and Health Sciences, Amherst. Dr. Calabrese has researched extensively in the area of host factors affecting susceptibility to pollutants, and is the author of over 1,000 papers in scholarly journals, as well as more than 10 books. Dr. Calabrese was awarded the 2009 Marie Curie Prize for his body of work on hormesis. He was the recipient of the International Society for Cell Communication and Signaling-Springer award for 2010. He was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science Degree from McMaster University in 2013. In 2014 he was awarded the Petr Beckmann Award from Doctors for Disaster Preparedness.